Collections

The Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle conserves, enriches, enhances the value of and makes accessible one of the three largest natural history collections in the world.

The Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle is heir to more than 400 years of scientific research. It seeks to share with as many people as possible its testimonies to the history of natural sciences and to raise awareness in all types of public of the issues related to the conservation of life on our planet through its vast collections.

The Muséum is the custodian of a collection that is unique in both its diversity and scope. More than 67 million specimens are exhibited in the galleries or kept in the storerooms. They have enormous historical value alongside their great scientific interest since they very often serve as reference specimens for researchers. The Muséum also conserves the treasures of one of the largest natural history libraries in the world, and many objects of art including the Muséum’s famous vellum collection. These collections are constantly growing through the relentless exploration of biodiversity carried out by the Muséum’s scientific teams, among others. Recent technical progress has also led to the introduction of new types of collections, for example of a biomolecular nature.

These large collections require constant restoration, additions and accessibility to the public so they can be studied. With this in mind, the Muséum pour la Planète endowment fund aims to provide long-term support for the restoration of specimens, objects and exhibition spaces in order to ensure their proper conservation and to provide visitors with the best conditions to discover the collections.

The endowment fund also aims to fund additions to the Muséum’s collections by participating in the institutions’ collection acquisition policy.

Finally, the endowment fund seeks to support the Muséum in its projects to facilitate the study of these extraordinary collections for scientists from across the world, by funding digitisation and computerisation work for the collections, which are then made freely accessible on-line.

Notes de bas de page

Collections

Le Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle conserve, enrichit, valorise et rend accessible l’une des trois plus grandes collections naturalistes au monde.

Héritier de plus de 400 ans d’Histoire et de travaux scientifiques, le Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle partage avec le plus grand nombre les témoignages de l’Histoire des sciences naturelles et sensibilise tous les publics aux enjeux de conservation du vivant sur notre planète grâce à ses vastes collections.

Le Muséum est dépositaire d’une collection unique tant par sa diversité que par son étendue. Plus de 67 millions de spécimens sont présentés dans les galeries ou conservés dans les réserves. Ils possèdent une grande valeur historique doublée d’un intérêt scientifique majeur car ce sont bien souvent des pièces de référence pour les chercheurs. Le Muséum conserve également les trésors de l’une des plus riches bibliothèques d'Histoire naturelle du monde et des objets d'art parmi lesquels la célèbre collection des vélins du Muséum. Ces collections s’accroissent régulièrement en raison de l’exploration permanente de la biodiversité menée notamment par les équipes scientifiques du Muséum et des progrès techniques qui conduisent à l’introduction de nouveaux types de collections, par exemple de nature biomoléculaire.

Ces importantes collections doivent être constamment restaurées, enrichies et rendues accessibles au public pour être étudiées. Dans cette optique, le Fonds de dotation Muséum pour la Planète a vocation à soutenir dans la durée la restauration de spécimens, d’objets ou d’espaces d’exposition afin de garantir leur bonne conservation et d’offrir aux visiteurs les meilleures conditions de découverte des collections.

Le Fonds de dotation a également pour objectif de financer l’enrichissement des collections du Muséum en participant à la politique d’acquisition de collections de l’institution.

Enfin, le Fonds de dotation souhaite accompagner le Muséum dans ses projets visant à faciliter l’étude de ses extraordinaires collections par les scientifiques du monde entier en finançant les travaux de numérisation et d’informatisation des collections qui sont ensuite librement accessibles sur Internet.

Quoi de neuf au muséum ?
Retrouvez nos actualités et nos dossiers thématiques pour mieux comprendre l'Homme et la nature.

Notes de bas de page