DiSSCo

The Distributed System for Scientific Collections (DiSSCo) is a new European research infrastructure (RI) for natural science collections.

The DiSSCo RI aims to create more integration of European collections by digitally unifying all natural science resources, ensuring single access where all data is easily found, accessible, interoperable and reusable (FAIR principles) and building on shared curation policies and practices.

DiSSCo: a research infrastructure to harmonise access to natural history collections in Europe.

DiSSCo represents the largest formal agreement ever between natural history museums, botanical gardens and universities holding collections worldwide.

DiSSCo is primarily a service offering. It will create a single access point for integrated data study, analysis and interpretation through a wide range of digital services provided by its community.

At the French level, the national network of naturalist collections (RECOLNAT) has been and continues to be actively involved in building DiSSCo. The natural link in scope and project between the two infrastructures makes them mirror infrastructures of one another, one at national level, the other at European level. Today, RECOLNAT is recognised as the French nodal point of DiSSCo and participates in the DiSSCo steering committee, executive committee and strategic committee.

DiSSCo Prepare outlines the IR to be

The DiSSCo Prepare project brings together 30 European institutions and aims to foreshadow the infrastructure that will become operational in 2026. It is a three-year European project (2020-2023) with a budget of 4 million euros. 

Together with the SYNTHESYS+, COST Mobilise and ICEDIG projects, this preparatory work is helping to define common standards and rules, as well as an architecture and digital tools that will allow a single access to all European naturalist collections

DiSSCo : L’intégration européenne à la lumière des collections d’histoire naturelle

© MNHN

Key contact people at the Muséum

  • François Dusoulier (francois.dusoulier [@] mnhn.fr)
  • Vanessa Demanoff (vanessa.demanoff [@] mnhn.fr)
  • Michel Guiraud (michel.guiraud [@] mnhn.fr)
  • Salomé Landel (salome.landel [@] mnhn.fr)
  • Katharine Worley (katharine.worley [@] mnhn.fr)
  • Eva Perez (eva.perez [@] mnhn.fr)

To find out more

Dissco

Dissco prepares

Notes de bas de page

DiSSCo

Le système distribué des collections scientifiques (DiSSCo, Distributed System for Scientific Collections) est une nouvelle infrastructure de recherche (IR) européenne pour les collections de sciences naturelles.

L'IR DiSSCo vise à créer plus d’intégration des collections européennes en unifiant numériquement toutes les ressources en sciences naturelles, garantissant un accès unique où toutes les données sont facilement trouvables, accessibles, interopérables et réutilisables (principes FAIR) et s’appuyant sur des politiques et des pratiques de conservation partagées.

DiSSCo : une infrastructure de recherche pour unifier l’accès aux collections d’histoire naturelle en Europe. 

DiSSCo représente le plus grand accord formel jamais conclu entre des musées d'histoire naturelle, des jardins botaniques et des universités détentrices de collections dans le monde.

DiSSCo est avant tout une offre de services. Il créera un point d'accès unique pour l'étude, l’analyse et l'interprétation intégrées des données grâce à un large éventail de services numériques fournis par sa communauté.

Au niveau français, le réseau national des collections naturalistes (RECOLNAT) est fortement impliqué et continue de l'être activement dans la construction de DiSSCo. Le lien naturel dans le périmètre et le projet entre les deux infrastructures en font des infrastructures miroirs, l'une à l'échelle nationale, l'autre au niveau européen. Aujourd'hui, RECOLNAT est reconnue comme le point nodal français de DiSSCo et participe au comité de pilotage, au comité exécutif et au comité stratégique de DiSSCo.

DiSSCo Prepare trace les contours de l’IR en devenir

Le projet DiSSCo Prepare rassemble 30 institutions européennes et a pour objectif de préfigurer l’infrastructure qui deviendra opérationnelle en 2026. C’est un projet européen d’une durée de 3 ans (2020-2023) avec un budget de 4 millions d’euros.  

Ce travail préparatoire participe, avec les projets SYNTHESYS+, COST Mobilise et ICEDIG, à définir des standards et des règles communes, ainsi qu’une architecture et des outils numériques qui permettront un accès unique à l’ensemble des collections naturalistes européennes.

DiSSCo : L’intégration européenne à la lumière des collections d’histoire naturelle

© MNHN

Principaux contacts au Muséum

  • François Dusoulier (francois.dusoulier [@] mnhn.fr) 
  • Vanessa Demanoff (vanessa.demanoff [@] mnhn.fr) 
  • Michel Guiraud (michel.guiraud [@] mnhn.fr) 
  • Salomé Landel (salome.landel [@] mnhn.fr) 
  • Katharine Worley (katharine.worley [@] mnhn.fr) 
  • Eva Perez (eva.perez [@] mnhn.fr) 

 

Pour en savoir plus

dissco

discco prepare

Quoi de neuf au muséum ?
Retrouvez nos actualités et nos dossiers thématiques pour mieux comprendre l'Homme et la nature.

Notes de bas de page