Tropical deep-sea benthos

The Tropical Deep-Sea Benthos project has carried out over 5,000 operations at sea since 1999 off major tropical islands. We are proud to have one of the most ambitious biological exploration programmes in these environments. All aboard!

The Tropical Deep-Sea Benthos project is a windfall. Its existence is a complete fluke! In 1976, the Office de la Recherche Scientifique et Technique d'Outre-Mer (ORSTOM) - now the Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD) - decided to assign a research trawler, le Vauban, to its centre in Noumea, New Caledonia. On its way from Marseilles, the ship made a detour to the Philippines for a ten-day oceanographic campaign. It was looking for a crustacean, Neoglyphea inopinata, the last representative of an extinct genus discovered in the area in 1908. On 22 March 1976, le Vauban came across this living treasure and proceeded to collect samples from all zoological groups. These specimens were then studied by our experts and many others This was the birth of the Tropical Deep-Sea Benthos programme.

Since then, dredging (sweeping the seabed) and trawling (netting at sea) operations have never stopped around large tropical islands. The project reached its golden age with the launch of the research vessel Alis in 1986 in New Caledonia.  From 1992 onwards, it spread to the archipelagos of the South Pacific: Vanuatu, Fiji, Wallis and Futuna, Tonga, Marquises. From 2000 onwards, it was the turn of the large archipelagos of Melanesia - Solomon Islands, Papua New Guinea. Partnerships were formed with other scientific teams to explore Taiwan, the Philippines, Madagascar and Mozambique using local vessels. Exploration of the Caribbean began in 2014.

More than two hundred scientists from all over the world are now working on the specimens collected. This material is of exceptional quality and very diverse. Hundreds of articles have been published in the volumes of the eponymous Tropical Deep-Sea Benthos series. As for the systematics of marine organisms, it has leaped forward. This is a programme that combines adventure, knowledge, progress and sharing!

Notes de bas de page

Tropical deep-sea benthos

Tropical Deep-Sea Benthos, c’est plus de 5 000 opérations réalisées en mer depuis 1999 au large des grandes îles tropicales. Nous sommes fiers de porter l’un des plus ambitieux programmes d'exploration biologique dans ces milieux. Embarquez !

Le projet Tropical Deep-Sea Benthos est une aubaine. Il n’aurait jamais dû voir le jour puisqu’il est le fruit d’un hasard ! En 1976, l'Office de la Recherche Scientifique et Technique d'Outre-Mer (ORSTOM) - devenu l'Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD) - décide d'affecter un chalutier de recherche, le Vauban, à son centre de Nouméa en Nouvelle Calédonie. Sur la route depuis Marseille, le navire fait un crochet par les Philippines pour une campagne océanographique de dix jours. Il recherche un crustacé, le Neoglyphea inopinata, dernier représentant d’un genre éteint et découvert en 1908 dans les parages. Le 22 mars 1976, le Vauban tombe sur ce trésor vivant et procède à une moisson d'échantillons dans tous les groupes zoologiques. Ces spécimens seront ensuite étudiés par nos experts et bien d’autres. C’est l’acte de naissance du programme Tropical Deep-Sea Benthos.

Depuis, les opérations de dragage (ratissage des fonds marins) et de chalutage (filet tiré en mer) n’ont jamais cessé autour de grandes îles tropicales. Le projet connaît un âge d’or avec le lancement du navire de recherche Alis en 1986 en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Il essaime ensuite à partir de 1992 les archipels du Pacifique Sud : Vanuatu, Fidji, Wallis & Futuna, Tonga, Marquises. À partir de 2000 vient le tour des grands archipels de Mélanésie - îles Salomon, Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée. Des partenariats sont noués avec d'autres équipes scientifiques pour l'exploration de Taïwan, des Philippines, de Madagascar et du Mozambique en utilisant des navires locaux. Puis débute l’exploration des Caraïbes en 2014.

Plus de deux cents scientifiques du monde entier planchent aujourd’hui sur les spécimens collectés. Un matériel d’une exceptionnelle qualité et diversité. Des centaines d'articles ont été publiés dans les volumes de la série éponyme Tropical Deep-Sea Benthos. Quant à la systématique des organismes marins, elle a connu un véritable bond en avant. Voilà un programme qui concilie aventure, connaissance, progrès et partage !

Quoi de neuf au muséum ?
Retrouvez nos actualités et nos dossiers thématiques pour mieux comprendre l'Homme et la nature.

Notes de bas de page